Comicstaan Season 2 Date & Judges Announced (Yes, Abish Mathew Is Still Hosting)

By Mihika Jindal 24 June 2019 2 mins read

Spread the love

The second season of Comicstaan has been finally announced. It’s coming to a screen near you on 12 July, exactly a year after the first!

While mainstream media has been hunting down comedic talent in India with shows like The Great India Laughter Challenge, Comedy Superstars and Comedy ka Maha Muqabla in the past, streaming giant Amazon Prime Video got into it last year, around the same time that Queens of Comedy was being aired over at TLC.

Keeping a sharp focus, there were no random celebrities; the contestants and judges were both picked up from the existing urban Indian standup scene, and different genres of standup were explored through the course of the show. The format had a more academic and nuanced approach than others before it. Comedians forced out of their comfort zones, as they trained to take on comedy clubs across the country with their newly honed skillz after the show.

The first season saw 10 promising contestants handpicked from all over India by a panel of judges comprising some of Indian standup’s most popular names—Tanmay Bhat, Kaneez Surka, Biswa Kalyan Rath, Sapan Verma, Naveen Richard, Kanan Gill, and Kenny Sebastian. In the process, they had us hooked, the participants’ faces cemented in our heads—Aishwarya Mohanraj grew familiar to us through her unique and bizarre strain of comedy, Prashasti Singh went full draamebaaz, Saurav Mehta’s facial elastics could only be matched by that of judge Naveen Richard, Rahul Dua reminded everyone that consistency is key, and Nishant Suri, the winner of Season 1, was the careful one whose comedy always came across as well thought of, but never forced.

The shortlisting for Season 2 began before the Season 1 finale, and fans of the show have been prepping for its return ever since. Well, here we (almost) are.

Season 2 introduces us to 10 fresh faces, and three new judges. Tanmay Bhat, Sapan Verma and and Naveen Richard will be replaced by Zakir Khan, Neeti Palta, and Sumukhi Suresh, who hands over hosting duties to the unbeatably cheery Urooj Ashfaq. Nothing changes for Abish Mathew, who continues to host the show with the energy levels the rest of us can only ever aspire for.

Sorry Abish, looks like the train with all the judges left without you… again.

The teasers have started trickling in:

Comicstaan 2 Official teaser feat. Biswa Kalyan Rath

All primed for Season 2 with 10 new faces taking turns to bomb, kill and destroy in their fight for the top spot? We sure are.

Comicstaan 2 Official Teaser feat. Zakir Khan


Mihika Jindal


comments for this post are closed